Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I bought a brand new house in 2007 that has veneer hardwood floors in the kitchen.

I noticed this morning that our kitchen has 1000s of high heel divots all over it. It looks like complete garbage now especially that we have very dark glossy floors. (When I say 1000s I mean at least 2 in every square inch in an area of about 400 square feet)

I'm trying not to get mad at her but I absolutely loved this house and everything about it and this just ruins it for me. This is by far the worse thing we've done to our home so far, and I can't imagine much worse really. (This paragraph is just here for some venting, this only happened a few hours ago and I am still pretty tore up about it, sorry)

I've done some reseach this morning and it looks like our only possible solution is maybe refinishing, but I have no experience with woodworking so I have a few questions please:

1. Are there any other solutions besides sanding and refinishing? (The floors are not even two years old yet)

2. Is it possible to refinish a veneer hardwood floor?

3. Would it ever go back to the way it looked before?

4. Is it possible to only sand the areas that are dented or do all the floors need to be done at the same time?

5. Is it very expensive to have it refinished?

Thanks for reading this guys. I miss apartment living!

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
WELCOME TO THE FORUM

Depending on how thick the veneer is, sanding will only take the high spots down (not the divots). Not much can be done about the indentations. In any case, use of high heels can damage wood floors. A solid wood floor could be refinished.

I would replace with a porcelain or ceramic tile.

·
Registered
139 Posts
What he said