Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new to the board, and I was wondering if I could get some advice on woodworking by hand. I'd like to build a Gingery style metal lathe, and the book tells me that casting patterns used were all made of wood, white pine to be more specific. I'm new to woodworking and the casting patterns look simple enough to make, but I was wondering if it would be possible to make them using hand tools. Below is a picture of the mold patterns used to cast the parts to build the lathe (found them on another site).

Based on the picture, do you think it would be possible to make these pattern pieces with hand tools? And if so, is there any site which contains a thorough list of all the hand tools needed for hand woodworking? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Can these patterns be made with hand tools? Definitely.

As a beginning woodworker can you make them with hand tools? Maybe, eventually.....

Tools needed: workbench, vises, any number of different jigs for holding and manipulating wood while you work on pieces, several different saws, several hand planes, chisels, gouges, marking gauges, marking knife, spokeshave(s), card scrapers, calipers and probably many more that I'm not thinking of at the moment.

Here is a link and a little story about a pattern maker and his toolbox. http://www.supertool.com/etcetera/pchest/pattern.htm

I admire your ambition, but unless you want to spend a considerable amount of time and money learning pattern making, I'd recommend you search for someone who could make the patterns for you.

·
In History is the Future
6,423 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Technology is a funny thing. I often tell groups that technology follows technology. As smithing / metal work became better it allowed for better wood working tools - and as woodworking tools improve it improves metal work as is evident during the industrial revolution.