Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm just getting into wood working. I would like to learn with as many hand tools as possible. I know that it'll take longer, but I think it'll be worth it. My question is this:

What are the best bang for your buck hand tools?

I was thinking of getting the saws from Windsor Saws and building my own handles. But what about chisels, planes, scrapers, mallets?

I will be having some money to spend shortly, but please, don't spend it all in one place for me. LOL

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
How are you going to build a handle for your new saw without a saw to cut the wood with?:eek::laughing:

I'm only half joking, but the first consideration is what types of projects you want to build and how much hand tooling do you want to do.

Will you be using wood that is rough cut and need to be joined and planed by hand? If so, the number of planes that you will want will increase. Probably at a minimum you'd need/want the equivalent to a Stanley
Bailey #7, #5, #4 and a low angle block.

Do you plan on making all your cuts with hand saws? As with the planes, you will need at the minimum a rip saw, a crosscut, a CC backsaw for joinery and maybe a rip backsaw for dovetails.

You can see where I'm going with this, a lot of your choices will be determined by what you want to do.

I would not recommend going out and trying to buy a laundry list of hand tools to try and outfit your shop. Buy them piece by piece for the current project. Only buy further tools as you need them and buy quality tools to start. You will be disappointed if you buy a bunch of cheap hand tools as they will not perform.

That doesn't mean you have to buy expensive tools, just quality tools. If you want quality tools at a really affordable price, that means buying vintage in many cases. It may also involve refurbishing some of those tools.