Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm sorry i don't have progress pictures. I grab the tools i need and go to a shared shop. The camera is just not something i think about.

This is my first time using a plow plane and my first time making cabinets, so there was a lot of oops's that i won't talk about.

I used through mortise and tenon joints for the top and sides. I raised my panel, but in the back and not with any fancy molding planes. I don't really like really refined things (luckily i use hand tools and am a complete novice).

I got the poplar from home depot and I hand ripped a 3/4" board into book matched panels, so that was some fun work too.

I noticed I made two different sizes while taking the pictures. Somebody wasn't paying attention. Oops.

turned out alright. I've yet to make the cabinet part so stay tuned.

I am no photographer. i also just noticed I didn't arrange the doors book matched. Just flip it around in your amazing wood worker's imagination.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Wow, for hand work, that's pretty nice! I'm about to do a bathroom cabinet (open design though, so no doors), and I hope I can get it that nice!

Acer

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
There is nothing wrong with those doors. All the mistakes give it CHARACTER!
yeah. i'll just do a few passes with a plane and they'll be the same size. the panels will look funny perhaps.

I just bought some neat old looking hardware for them. I'm hoping i can finish it really nice. I'm awful at finishing. I want it to be greyish...yellowish...perhaps burnt on the edges. i don't know.

·
Registered
614 Posts
I think my eyes are playing tricks with me. Are they the same size? They look nice. Did you apply any finish yet?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
yeah. i mentioned that. i don't know how they got that way. i shoulda lined up my mortises.

measure once...