Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok im new to hand tools, my wife bought me a stanley sweetheart 9 1/2 block plane for christmas.... IM HOOKED!!! I am a carpenter but dont have much experience in the realm of hand planes/tools. I have been on the search for hand planes to add to my collection and have found them to be expensive. Therefore I can only buy a few right now. Can someone point me in the direction of 2 or 3 others planes to add to my collection? I need planes I can use. I have read that some planes are good for the same things others are. Its confusing. Should my next be a Veritas 4 bench smoothing plane and a low angle jack? or perhaps a fore plane and a number 5? Just so every one knows also i do not have a jointer so i will be using plane to do this task, and i am slowly getting into making tables, small cabinets etc. I have searched for threads on this but cant find any. I am not looking for what brand but the exact plane number or type ....... Help!?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You know what I have been on the internet looking at what to get for so long I think I have spun my self in a circle. Your right I must have missed that thread... sorry about that I dont want people to think that I have not put the leg work in. I think I have just found that every one have recommended different things. I am just very overwhelmed with the different types and their capabilities. Thank you for showing me that thread.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
My first hand plane was a vintage Stanley Bailey no 5 that Dave Paine restored for me. I find that it is the most versatile plane I own, and I use it all the time for everything from roughing (with a cambered blade) to flattening to initial smoothing before the no 4 touches the stock.

·
Registered
324 Posts