Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Inexperienced
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Let me begin by saying that I'm pretty new to woodworking, I've only really been working on a few projects for about a year and only really got my own set of tools a few months ago. Something I've always struggled with is the terrible lumber available around here and my inability to make my pieces straight, flat and square to each other.

I recently got sick of wobbly cuts with my circular saw and homemade guide, and I don't have a budget for a table saw or a high-end track saw. I thought I would give the new Grizzly track saw a try. At a total cost of $179.95 for the saw and $49.95 for the track, it comes in at around $230 to get started. Comparable products are:
Dewalt track saw kit DWS520K at $435
Makita track saw kit SP6000K at $430

I got it about a week ago, it came the same day as the track (T24872) I ordered, but my accessory pack (T25094) came about 5 days later.

It was well packed, I unboxed it and took a look at it, then set off on reading the instructions. All I can say about the instructions is that they are a bit lacking. My accessory pack didn't even come with instructions..

Some things I've noted in my short time with the saw:
-No on-board storage for the allen wrench that is needed to make adjustments on the saw. This will inevitably be my downfall

-The plunge action does not lock down when changing the blade, which makes it tricky to hold the blade lock, work the arbor bolt and keep the saw plunged at the correct depth

-The depth stop assembly is.. ill-fitting. I find myself fighting it to move it from the deepest position, sometimes I need to take the lock knob all the way out just to readjust it. I'm afraid I'm going to break it. Not to mention I need to do math every time I set the depth stop since it doesn't take the track thickness into account on the scale