Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

New guy here. I'll try not to step on any toes. Though I work in the woodworking trade, I have much respect for I know MANY of you who know scads more than me. I look forward to learning.

mojo

·
Registered
4,691 Posts
mrmojorisin(g) I have not heard that for awhile. Unscramble the letters mrmojorisin = Jim Morrison. Welcome, now I am going to dig out a couple Doors albums, I will be back later

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great website, Daren.

Didn't realize you could get 'Jim Morrison' out of my handle. Yeah, the Soft Parade sounds good about now.

·
Forgotten but not gone
5,677 Posts
Yo mojo. Welcome. Daren is almost right. Drop that "g" and you'll have a perfect anagram for Jim morrison. Mr. Mojo Risin' . . .
At the time L.A. Woman was written, mojo was a slang for, uh, how do I say it, sexual ability so to speak. So it was a double entendre.
It was John Densmore's idea to start that vien of the song slow, as in the begining of "lovemaking" and increase the tempo as in reaching orgasm.
No I did not spend my time ever studying the Doors to the extent to know this stuff. A guitar player in one of my old rock bands was a Jim Morrison/Doors freak and you could not be around him long without becoming a Doors historian yourself. :glare:

·
johnep
2,001 Posts
Now there was a time when stereos came in fancy wood cabinets. We had one with a roll slide door for access to the turntable. After we ditched the stereo, we kept the cabinet as a drinks/glasses unit.
johnep

·
Registered
4,691 Posts
we kept the cabinet as a drinks/glasses unit.
johnep