Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Ken Schlema
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this topic has been discussed many times,butbeing new to Turning I need some input here.
I've tried a sharpening system I bought from Hartville Tool. To be very honest if this is all there is I would be better off using a steel rod that I grind free hand.
I do not mind spending the money but I do want something that works.
I'm a machinist so I do know how to use tools if they are made correctly .
Guys I would appreciate the input,I just want to spend time making wood bowls and such. Not remaking tools to sharpen my cutters.
Thanks for the help.
Ken

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
I haven't looked at what Hartville sells but I have about 4 sharpening videos that should help. You can find them all by either typing in john60lucas sharpening in the youtube search block or simply subscribe to my videos.

All the various sharpening jigs do more or less the same thing, it's still up to you to grind properly. My video on sharpening problems tries to answer this.
The shape of gouges can also be a problem because often they come from the factory with bad grinds so duplicating it doesn't really help. Here is a web site with photos of grinds other turners use. Mine are in there also. Hopefully that will help.
http://www.woodcentral.com/newforum/grinds.shtml

·
Ken Schlema
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Tool sharpening

I hate to bad mouth a product even if it's not working.
But if it will help find a working system it was the Super Sharo.
The tool I got from Hartville is just made poorly or designed incorrectly to begin with.
The clamping device changes the location of the gouge each time it is clamped and the line up notches are cut off by 3/16 " I know this is a $100 tool but these are basic features that need to be done correctly.

·
Registered
400 Posts