Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So for my third pen (I’m new to turning), I wanted to attempt the celtic knot. I used a light colored wood for the blank (cypress), and walnut for the knot - outlined in aluminum foil. I glued alum foil on both sides of the walnut using CA glue, the Gorilla Glue brand. I did the same when gluing the pieces into my pen blank.

Problem came when drilling the blank. The piece cracked and came apart at the aluminum foil.

Question I have is, would epoxy be a better choice here? Or wood glue? Anybody have success with this?

I can upload pictures later when get home. Thanks in advance!

·
7,222 Posts
As you observed, the CA glue does not bond well with the smooth surface of aluminium foil.

Wood glue normally pops off metal.

Your best choice would be 2 part epoxy. I would also wipe the foil with acetone to remove any potential film of oil/grease e.g., from your skin.

I would do a test piece first of just a piece of foil and e.g., the walnut. Let the epoxy harden and then see if the foil can be removed. If so, then you need to consider either another brand of epoxy, or roughing the surface slightly with sand paper to improve adhesion.

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
It will always be a weak point no matter which glue you use, since you're attempting to glue shiny metal to the end grain of wood.

I suggest you add splints glued length-wise along all four sides of the blank, do all four sides to keep the drill centered (which is important to keep the knot symmetrical).

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Like stated, your going to have problems drilling regardless of the glue used. These can even be the case without the aluminum. The splints are a good idea. I have also just taped the entire blank up for drilling, that seems to hold everything together. Once you get the tube epoxied in, your usually good to go.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #6