Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Pretty much a noob at woodworking. I'm dealing with some seriously heavy life stuff. I'm an artist who does game art and animation and something has possessed me to do something creative to channel all the stress I'm dealing with into something productive that doesn't involve sitting on my butt in front of a computer. I'm also decorating my apartment as I left all my nice furniture back in my home state when I moved so I figured I'd give making some of my own a shot. My first project is a mid century modern highboy dresser which isn't near as ambitious for a first timer as it sounds. I bought a solid pine IKEA dresser that's a dead ringer for one with the proper legs (Which I've sourced.) and a bit of modification. I'll be putting sides to it, chopping off the top shelf, new period appropriate hardware and some paint and stain to match my bed and a satin lacquer finish. Maybe I"ll even swap out all the external panels for some maple or maple plywood, something harder to withstand dents and dings a bit better. When I was a little kid my dad taught me how to carve boomerangs that actually worked out of wood and I built my own reflector telescope with him when I was a kid out of particle board and pvc pipe so i'ts not like i've never done anything with wood but this was almost 30 years ago. I'm confident I could be decent at this pretty fast so I"ve been exhaustively researching woodworking techniques.

I have a big background in 3d modeling so i could totally model everything i want to make incredibly fast to scale in Maya and make my own plans and schematics with all my cuts and measurements laid out logically.