Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Tool Enthusiast
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking into the Grizzly G0513X2 bandsaw which has a slight sale going on, cost is $1050. The G0513X2F is identical except that it has a foot brake. I've never used a brake before and it's $200 more for this feature. Should I even consider it at that cost? Guess it depends how long the G0513X2 takes to spin down without a brake (which I also don't know) so if anyone can shed some light on that I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

·
7,222 Posts
A topic in a thread a few months ago.

Only you can decide whether it is worth it or not. Most band saws will take a few seconds to spin down by themselves.

I have the Grizzly G0513, the original model with aluminium wheels. I do not time how long it takes to spin down, but it is a few seconds. I just wait until the blade stops.

The one you are looking at has cast iron wheels. I would expect this to take a little longer to spin down due to more mass.

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f12/couple-grizzly-band-saws-questions-49306/

·
where's my table saw?
29,623 Posts
Great....

Mine takes 7 minutes to stop.
What's the zero to 5652 FPM time......:scooter:

Spinning bandsaw blades "scare" me. I'm always concerned I'm goona wipe across the blade with a workpiece or worse yet, a body part.

I think you can stop a 3 phase motor by putting it in REV... right? Except a bandsaw would have no REV position on the switch.
Regardless, treat it like it's still running and don't go pickin' stuff from in front of the blade. I reach around the back and using a small scrap stick "bat" the scraps way out in front of the blade where I bat them further away OR can I safely grab them. :yes:

·
Tool Enthusiast
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks, I think I'm going to get the electronic brake version. I don't plan on buying another saw and I'd rather spend more for the safety and convenience of 3 second stopping. Thanks again for the input.

·