Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, I picked up an old craftsman belsaw made planer moulder. I checked and it is a model 910 with a 5 h.p. motor. it is in excellent condition. I removed one of the planer blades and checked it with my micrometer and it is .125 or "1/8 inch". the cutter head has 3 blade slots.

I bought this for making crown, casings, and chair rail primarily. I plan on using 3/4 MDF as material. I have another 13" planer so unless I have some pretty heavy duty planning I will not be using the belsaw for that. I am new to making mouldings and I have a few questions.

first, I have read that 1/8 knives might bend on me when making moulding. is this accurate ?

second, when I pulled the blade out and got a good look at the gib key I saw it is a simple piece of aluminum. I could easily have a machine shop mill some modified keys that would allow me to use .250 or even .312 thick knives. from looking at it, it doesn't seem that would be a crazy idea. have any of you guys heard of doing such a thing ? like I said I am new to this so im not sure if perhaps the thicker blades are designed to go into a deeper slot. it seems to me that if one of those knives went flying it would be really bad. :blink: (lack of mangled smiley face)

third, if that is the case and I can go with thicker knives I am finding it difficult to find out the thicknesses of the different machine manufacturers. I have found 3 different standards but no info on the thickness.

fourth, I have seen corrugated knives. I am assuming that these are designed to go with a corrugated head but I figured I would throw it out there.