Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

First time here...

I'm a beginner who's just starting woodworking. I'm making a small shelf unit that required me to glue up 4 panels form smaller stock. 2 are 17" x 15", and the other 2 are 17" x 12". I squared all the cherry stock & did the glue ups last week. I'd say 2 of them are not bad at all, and 2 are definitely off a bit.

My question is this: what's the best way to smooth these out & get them perfectly flat? I have access to a 20" planer that i could feed them all through. Is that a good idea? If i don't do that then I think i'll be doing it with a belt sander.

All advice is appreciated...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. How difficult is that to do with a bench plane (for a complete novice like me)?

·
Registered
301 Posts
I've done a dry fit that I thought looked good, clamped using cauls and felt good about it. Came back 30 min later and the boards had moved a bit. Maybe clamped a side too tight, not sure. It happens.

Rather than spend the time trying to correct it, I just ripped the glue joints out, squared up the edges again, and re did it. Sure I lost a bit of wood but it was quick and painless.

·
7,222 Posts
Thanks. How difficult is that to do with a bench plane (for a complete novice like me)?
Not easy. If not familiar with hand planes you may get the edge straight, but not 90 deg to the face.

You are likely to get a better result on the table saw, as Noek stated in his reply.

you have access to a jointer, you can try this tool.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

If i don't do that then I think i'll be doing it with a belt sander.
We have an introduction section where you can say a few words about yourself. If you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", you can list any hobbies, experience or other facts. You can also list your general geographical location which would be a help in answering some questions.