Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys (and gals).

I’m working on a small project for a friend. It’s a yarn swift used for knitting. Basically it’s a lazy Susan with arms. Pegs will go into the arms to wind and unwind yawn. I get a nice handmade scarf out of the deal!

Here’s the work in progress:

I’m by no means an expert when if comes to finishing so I’m looking for some direction here. And this is my 1st time working with Poplar.

I would like a natural satin finish (no stain). A “smooth as possible” finish is important since this will be used with delicate yarns.

So I’m looking for suggestions on sanding and finishing. Brush or wipe on? Oil or water based? What to do between coats? What to do after final coat (wet sanding? Steel wool?)...

Give me a quick step by step to produce the smoothest satin finish possible…

And I’ll post some pics of the final results!

Thanks!

·
Registered
979 Posts
The easiest finish is probably spray shellac. The spray can type goes on thin and dries dries fast. Lightly sand between coats with 220 (assuming you've already sanded your way up to that point) It will leave a really nice snag-free durable finish for the yarn. Just don't spill alcohol on it.

Also spray laquer. Deft's finish laquer also dries fast and leaves the same type finish.

·
Cabinetmaker
646 Posts
Nick; before you finish it I would consider grabbing your router and putting at least an 1/8" radius on the edges.
The other finish that is great is Minwax Polycrylic, water based poly, dries in under an hr so recoats are ez and fast NO STEEL WOOL!!!!!!:no:
ScothBrite pads made for this purpose, paint stores normally have them, sometimes the Borg's also

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nick; before you finish it I would consider grabbing your router and putting at least an 1/8" radius on the edges.