Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This was a first for me. I've been a woodworker and a bit of an audio freak for a long time now. Guess it was just a matter of time before those 2 worlds collided :smile:! This was a fairly cheap kit I picked up from Parts Express (around $130 for the speakers and the components to make the crossovers). I'm really surprised at how good they sound! This is actually a test run for the next pair (quite a bit more money) I already purchased the components for.

I made this out of some soft maple I had laying around in my shop using my Hitachi resaw. My first time making veneer w/ it. I made it 1/4" thick.

Painted the fronts (and the backs) before I veneered. I ended up scratching the crap out of the backs while I was veneering them :thumbdown:. I'll mask the next pair off and be a little more careful next time!

I'll come up w/ a better veneer clamping method for the next set, but the Jed Clampet method actually worked!

My first run w/ dye stain as well (thanks sooo much for all your help Chemmy :thumbsup:!). I rubbed this on. First was a heavy, dark coat of red mahogany; then went over it after it dried w/ black.

This is after 3 coats of brushed on Ceramithane satin finish. I know these definitely look purple here and it depends who you ask (the camera flash didn't help to make them any less purple). My son says they're brown, my daughter says they're dk red, and my wife says they're purple. It really depends on the light. In the sun they're dk red, under fluorescent lights they're purple.

The grills look gray here but they're black. The camera flash again (not much of a photographer!).

I molded magnets into the wood to hold the grills on.

·
Over the hills n far away
542 Posts
Those look very nice. Great job.