Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All -
This is my first time posting and it's about my first real project. I've done small woodworking projects here and there, but they were always primitive (e.g all nails and screws). My wife wants a farmhouse dining table, and rather than do the whole thing with pocket screw joinery like some guides suggest, I want to do it with some honest to goodness joinery.

I've got the whole table figured out in terms of what joints I'm going to make and use (mortise and tenon for legs, stretchers, and apron and I'm going to lap the top).

However to make this table a little unique, I'd like to do something special with the tops of the legs. I'd like to bring the tops of the legs up through the table top so that the tops of the legs are flush with the table top. However if I do this, will I be running into problems with the top expanding laterally and the legs not giving expansion room? I'm afraid of the top buckling or the apron getting pulled out of the mortise.

Thanks for any/all help!

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
its all wood, so if there is a spanner between the legs, it should expand right along with the table top, so it all moves together.

With that said, I wonder how much expansion and contraction an indoor table has in an air conditioned enviroment.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Might I suggest putting the legs on the very outer corners, so that the outter edge of the leg, makes the actual corner of the table? This way you have two sides that are not bound by the table top, and it should allow more than enough movement.

Simon

·
Village Idiot
4,960 Posts
its all wood, so if there is a spanner between the legs, it should expand right along with the table top, so it all moves together.

With that said, I wonder how much expansion and contraction an indoor table has in an air conditioned enviroment.