Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at a woodworking. Instead of making a simple shelf, I decided on duplicating this workshop hutch like the one Norm did on the NYW. Almost everything is done with the exception of a few trims and the biggest thing, the drawers. I am starting to get frustrated. I don't know where to begin with the drawers, where to cross-cut the panels and the dimensions to make them.

The slides need 1/2 inch per side. The cabinet dimensions are 30 1/4 in high and 36 14/16 wide. I want to build two big drawers and a small one in each side. I started cutting the sides of the top drawer and they are 5 in high. That's where I'm stuck. It is extremely hard to work in a place that is full of stuff. I can hardly walk without stepping on something. I want to finish this so I can start organizing the shop. Any help on how to continue tackling this? I spent about 2 hours today making test dovetail joints so as to not screw up the actual project. Thanks.

I am thinking it would be easier to cross-cut the panels using my Porter Cable 314 trim saw and a guide. Any suggestions?:huh:

IMG_1853.jpg
IMG_1856.jpg
IMG_1857.jpg
IMG_1860.jpg

·
Registered
484 Posts
flyboylr45

Your doing real good so far. You can be proud of yourself. Don't quit on yourself now. Making drawers isn't hard to do at all you just need to know how to go about it and it's a piece of cake. If you have to, stop working and get a book telling you how to do drawers before you cut anymore wood.
Let us see how you make out when your finished. Good Luck:thumbsup:,:yes: Mitch

·
Registered
2,276 Posts