Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I am new to woodworking - this is my first project and think I may have bitten off a bit much
I’m building a solid walnut coffee table which has taught me a lot. I have completed the top, bottom frame and panel and the box legs, I now need to join it all together and am a bit lost.

Would appreciate some advice from some more seasoned woodsman!

This is the table and legs

I have tried to put a couple option together (but unsure if these are even plausible) so very open to new ideas!

Attaching the top

Option 1 - Connect the top using z clips table top fasteners

Two on each side of the bigger box leg
1 on each side of the smaller box leg (could potentially get two on side running against the tabletop grain)

Option 2 – Image below but fasteners are in inside of the box

Connect top using figure 8 connection inside the boxes
Unsure if these will allow for enough movement though

Option 3 – Connect top using figure 8 connection on the outside of the box legs
This would show the figure 8 on the underside of the table top but it would allow me to connect the base internally first using z-clips (I think this is probably the easiest solution? but I don’t like the figure 8 being visible)

Option 4 – add rails

Attach additional rails to the top of the inside of the box legs using glue (and screws?) create elongated screw holes in the rails, attach leg to top with pan head and washer.

Attach bottom
I will be attaching the bottom seconds unless I use option 3 above so will mostly likely be attaching the base to the legs rather than the legs to the base unless someone wiser than me has a great plan

Option A - screw into rails

Similar to option 4 above, attach addition rails to the base of the legs, create elongated screw holes in base and attach base to rails with panhead and washer.

Option B - Drill directly into base of legs (only on sides that run with grain)