Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
"Lets make some sawdust!"
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few days ago had my first kickback on the tablesaw. I've heard plenty of stories of kickbacks, but none of them could have ever prepared me for how frightening it is. I was just ripping out a 15" wide piece of 1/4" ply and BANG! fortunately the only damage was a bruised bone in my pointer finger which was hit and its already better but here comes my real reason for this post. Thing is, this happened in the workplace and you guessed it, the saw has no guard, no pawls and no riving knife. This could have been prevented if only there was just the riving knife, very typical kickback I was near the end of the rip, somehow got away from the fence and catches the back of the blade. I've been working at this shop for about 5 months and was at another for 3 months before this one but have been a hobbyist for about 4 years, outside the workplace I always use all safety gear on the saw, I never felt good about using this one at work with the way it was set up and I was stupid enough to say nothing about it. Now here's what really gets me angry, the first year that they were in business the owner lost his finger on the tablesaw, wouldn't have happened if there were safety gear. Additionally, they also once had a incident where a cabinet maker lost 3 fingers and again, wouldn't have happened if there were safety gear. You would think after something like that they would put something on there right? apparently not, this place has been around for 42 years and never had any gear on there. Today I asked about if they even have a riving knife around, they don't. Now this next thing some people will think me logical for, others might think I am being ridiculous, call it what you will but unless they get at least a riving knife on there I refuse to use the saw, I know its not safe and always have and I was an idiot to ever use it the way it is. Very interested to see the input