Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At first I was pretty excited about posting pictures of what I've done and pretty proud of myself, but after looking around at what you guys do, I'm a bit skeptical of posting this as I feel way out of my league here. It's all for fun and for improving, though, right?

So I've built a few things like my workbench, a headboard (That I'm not that proud of), my miter saw bench, etc. But this is my first project that I intended to take my time on and make nice (or as nice as I could).

Wood: Vertical Douglas Fir 2x4 and 4x4
Stain: Varathane American Walnut water-based
Finish: Varathane Polyurethane Satin water-based

It's all joined with pocket holes (don't hate me).

Here's the top put together:
Top.jpg

The Legs and Aprons:
Supports.jpg

Fully Assembled:
Assembled.jpg

Stained and Varnish drying:
Stained and Varnishing.jpg

Like I said, I'm pretty new to this so any questions, comments, criticisms, tips, are all appreciated.

Cheers,
Mike

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Looks nice! You may have problems with expansion/contraction of the top. I can't see where you have allowed for wood movement. :smile:
That's due to me not knowing/accounting for it. Time to go do my reading. Are you referring to thermal expansion/contraction? Or due to moisture? Or something else? I'm guessing soft woods like this are more prone to fluctuation?

For a project like this, how would someone account for that? Or is it just inherent in the design of this?

+1. :yes: You may also find the legs working loose because of the pocket screws.
I wondered that as I was building it. It feels sturdy now, but with the legs sticking out that far with no support I can see how it could be an issue as it starts to wear.

Hopefully by the time I start seeing issues with that, I'll be in position to build a much better one.

Thank you very much for the tips, I really appreciate it!

·
Scotty D
4,479 Posts