Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all, this is my first post, and I thank you for the help ahead of time. I am in need of some advice concerning the finishing of the engineered beams that I am installing in the ceiling of my living room. They are quite substantial in size 4"x9"x20' and there are three of them. The look I am going for is a "driftwood" type look with accentuated grains. I have tried some samples on spare dimensional lumber, with no success. I am interested in how to darken the grain, and providing the overall "silverish" look similar to what is below. I have very little experience with wood finishes, so I very much appreciate the help. Thank you

·
Registered
27,000 Posts
What you have shown in the picture looks like weathered wood that has been bleached to me. I believe if I were trying to match that with new wood I would first stain the wood with an ebony dye stain. Then sandblast the wood and then bleach it. It just may take some tinkering which should be done on scrap wood first. One thing for sure, you should figure out the finish before installing the beam in case some of the work has to be done outdoors.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
What you have shown in the picture looks like weathered wood that has been bleached to me. I believe if I were trying to match that with new wood I would first stain the wood with an ebony dye stain. Then sandblast the wood and then bleach it. It just may take some tinkering which should be done on scrap wood first. One thing for sure, you should figure out the finish before installing the beam in case some of the work has to be done outdoors.
So, you make this suggestion without knowing what the beams are made of, or even if the exterior surfaces are woodgrained?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·