Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete novice at finishing wood projects, mostly just small items that dont really matter using run of the mill products you can find at the bigbox.

I just laid prefinished 3/4" red oak in a "natural" wirebrushed finish from Vintage, and installed an unfinished custom red oak newel post/top rail. Id really like to finish the newel/handrail properly and make it look really good...its basically a centerpiece in the main room.

The flooring place I worked with suggested H2Oil, but it didnt seem like that brand is available to retail consumers. I was doing some searching and it seems like i should be leaning oil based, either varnish or poly, but the newel is installed already, so I wasnt sure if oil would take too long to cure/make the house smell for days on end. Since its a natural finish, i dont expect ill want to stain it, but i wasnt sure if a pore filler was a good idea or a waste of time given the application. I guess to match the wirebrushed/satin finish, ill knock down the final coat with fine steel wool?

Any thoughts/suggestions?

·
Registered
26,214 Posts