Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, but long time lurker. I've dabbled in small projects throughout the years, but never undertaken anything major until now. I'm in the process of building a crib for my future tax credit. I normally deal in oak and pine, but for this I decided to venture into unknown territory....namely wormy maple.

Being this is a wood I have never worked with, I'm hoping to get some guidance from the pros here.

First, I want to highlight the natural grain and contrast of the wood. I don't want to drastically change the color of it.

Second, after the finish, I'll need to seal it. I'm thinking a shellac, but I've never worked with it before and don't know how it will work with the maple.

Finally, I don't know what is baby safe. According to the latest news report, everything on the planet is unsafe for a baby. So I need to figure out how to finish it properly, while maintaining some sort of concern for the little crumb snatcher. ;)

So if you had to put a finish on wormy maple, what would you use?

·
Registered
26,334 Posts
I think you would be better off with a polyurethane especially if the finish is to be brushed. Shellac is a natural product and it's possible a baby may have an allergic reaction to it. It also doesn't brush very well because the second or more coats will melt into the first coat and you could remove about as much finish brushing as you are applying unless you apply it really fast. Shellac is just a lot easier sprayed.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Steve, thanks for the info. I have a full HVLP setup for spraying if needed. I've got a fair amount of experience with paint, but never a finishing product on wood. I understand that spraying shellac is fairly easy, but that the shellac can be corrosive to your gun if not cleaned immediately. Is this correct?