Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My first post. I’m a super newbie to woodworking, started last year.

While I have some projects under my belt, I have near zero experience with finishes.

For a family member’s birthday I’m making a little outdoor end table for the patio.

What are some of the go-to combinations for exterior protection? Any suggestions appreciated 👍
Wood Rectangle Circle Table Pattern

·
Registered
27,642 Posts
For an exterior finish you need a spar varnish. Probably the worst is Helmsman spar urethane. The best is Epifanes but is somewhere around 50 bucks a quart. A mid range varnish you could use is Cabot or Olympic.

The reason a spar is needed is it's elastic enough to withstand the wood movement from it being outdoors. A finish that is too hard is likely to crack from the weather extremes.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For an exterior finish you need a spar varnish. Probably the worst is Helmsman spar urethane. The best is Epifanes but is somewhere around 50 bucks a quart. A mid range varnish you could use is Cabot or Olympic.

The reason a spar is needed is it's elastic enough to withstand the wood movement from it being outdoors. A finish that is too hard is likely to crack from the weather extremes.
Thanks Steve,

I’m usually all about trial and error but I’d rather not err this one too bad as it’s a gift.

I’m going to go read up on spar varnish now 👍 looking to see if I should/can use an oil first…I’ll update the thread afterwards.

·
Registered
27,642 Posts
Thanks Steve,

I’m usually all about trial and error but I’d rather not err this one too bad as it’s a gift.

I’m going to go read up on spar varnish now 👍 looking to see if I should/can use an oil first…I’ll update the thread afterwards.
Using an oil is unnecessary, there is the same oil contained in the varnish.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·