Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am very new to this so looking for some advise on what to use. I am building a Kitchen table with oak and poplar. Some of the boards have small knot holes witch I believe make the table look even better and we are going to put some markings and stress marks on it before using a natural stain. I am going to fill the knot holes in with a clear epoxy/filler but I have never done anything like that before so I'm looking for the best/easiest. We are not doing the whole table in clear just filling in the holes. Are any of the clear epoxys sandable just to get it smooth with the wood after being filled in or will it leave marks. Any info is greatly appreciated. There are so many brands to choose from with varying price ranges. Don't want to spend a fortune on something I'm only going to use a cup full of. Thanks again.

·
Registered
281 Posts
This is the cheapest I've found: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Rust-Oleum-Parks-1-qt-Gloss-Super-Glaze-Finish-and-Preservative-241352/202056337 Note that it's actually pretty expensive by amount, but if you would rather spend $25 than $50 or $60, then you could check it out. (Although i would recommend buying a full gallon of this stuff from amazon instead...it's more up-front, but cheaper by amount, and you never know what uses you'll find for it!).

It's definitely sandable, but the question is: What kind of finish are you using for the table as a whole? If you're using polyurethane, than simply apply that over the epoxy and it'll erase any marks left by the sanding. if you're not using polyurethane or any other "hard" finish, then you'll need to sand it up to a pretty high grit to get it flawless again.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I plan to stain the table with vinegar and steel wool that's been sitting few months then finish it with tung oil. Should I stain it first or does that matter

·
Registered