Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I'm a newbie into this woodworking hobby. I plan on retiring in a few months, and plan on getting into woodworking for a hobby. I purchased quite a few pieces of festool equipment, and was wondering if anyone out there has hands on experience with festool products, and could offer me some advice. From what I can tell, it is very accurate, but more importantly, very safe. It seems like it is as accurate as a table saw, but far less dangerous. :smile:

Greenfield Rich

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what item are you talking about?
the circular saw and guide?

Yes, exactly. I feel that the saw with the guide is as accurate as using a table saw, without the kickback danger. Plus, you have the added advantage of the dust extraction that connects to every Festool piece of equipment. I have the saw, table, guide, router, rotex sander, and domino joiner.

Greenfield Rich:icon_smile:

·
Cabinetmaker
646 Posts
The Festool is a great tool, very convient BUT it will NOT replace a tablesaw. You have no ability to cut multiple widths to the same dimension, you cannot get true parallel cuts, without a fence you have no real referance surface. You cannot get real square cuts.
For use on a jobsite it is great but in a "shop type" environment it has very limited use. Great for "breaking down" plywood but a tablesaw is required to finish those pcs into a square cabinet.:smile:

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
questioning your reply

The Festool is a great tool, very convient BUT it will NOT replace a tablesaw. You have no ability to cut multiple widths to the same dimension, you cannot get true parallel cuts, without a fence you have no real referance surface. You cannot get real square cuts.