Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still fairly new to this craft and am working with a sawstop table saw with the standard fence it comes with and my router table is a kreg frame with an incra top and fence.

My issue is, neither fence seems to align very well. The sawstop fence is very solid and nice but I still find myself adjusting both ends with a ruler to ensure it is absolutely parallel to the blade and wings of the table. The router fence is a bit worse and requires more adjusting to get it perfect. Is this normal? It seems like an extra step is all but when I adjust my fence(s) I can almost guarantee it won't be completely accurate and straight, and so I break out the ruler to fine tune.

·
7,222 Posts
You should not worry about the wings or the router. The main item is for the table saw blade to be parallel to the mitre slot and the fence.

I have an Incra router table fence. I never worry about alignment of the router fence, since I am typically using a router bit for edge forming. If my wood is straight, my edge profile will be straight, especially if I am using a router bit with a bearing.

I may not be understanding your problem. How about some pictures?

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can't really post pictures since I'm at work but say for example, i adjust my router fence to where I want it. If I measure from the face of the fence to the side of the table (the side where I'm standing when I'm routing), it may not be the same from the very right side of the fence as the left side. In other words, the fence is at a slight degree to the table since it locks on the left and right side. When I run a length of wood across the bit along the fence, it travels at a slight angle. I'm terrible with explaining stuff, so I'm not sure this is making much sense, but I have the same issue with my table saw with the fence not being completely accurate with the table when I adjust it.