Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was working with some small walnut pieces last night and when I woke up this morning I could still smell the wood on my fingers. I love the smell of walnut when working with it. I picked up freshly sanded pieces a few times last night and inhaled.

I'm new to hardwood woodworking, but have done a lot with construction pine and have always loved the sensory experience of freshly cut or sanded wood. Walnut has quickly become a favorite. I have some maple, red oak, poplar, catalpa, and cherry queued up for some projects. The guy I got some of that from says he has some sarsaparilla wood and that it smells like root beer when working with it. Tempted to get some just to experience that!

So, what are some of your favorite aromatic woods?

·
Registered
402 Posts
I really like the smell of Bocote and Cocobolo when I turn them. I too like the smell of pine.

Be careful sniffing black walnut, a gentleman who runs a sawmill tells me it prompted pneumonia. The sawdust is a herbicide, so, it is probably not great for you.

·
Premium Member
6,217 Posts
Yellow cedar is one of my least favourite woods, I was working out of a small shop and decided to expand into a larger one in the middle of a fairly big contract. The previous tenant was a clog maker that worked exclusively with yellow cedar, his machinery had been removed but there was piles of sawdust and layers of that dust everywhere. I worked at cleaning up in my spare time, it took several weeks but finally I had got every nook and cranny rid of that stinking stuff. Guess what wood I had to use for my next job.

·
Registered
834 Posts
Wait till you mill up some sassafras.

·
Yea i got wood
3,016 Posts
I always smell all the wood I work with and almost always love it
as I walk thru the woods I always pull leaves off trees and smell them
yea Im weird

·
Registered
1,151 Posts