Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a guy at work who has asked me if I would build him a coffee table for his new apartment. He and his girlfriend have decided on this one:

http://ana-white.com/2012/07/plans/rustic-x-coffee-table

I am by no means an expert or professional, but I know more about what I'm doing than he would. My question is, what do I charge him? Do I just charge him for materials? Materials plus $50? Do I figure an hourly rate? I've never been paid for a piece before, so I don't really know what I'm looking at.

Also, I know a lot of you probably wouldn't willingly use construction-grade lumber like this design uses, but he said to build it "exactly like that." If you were building it, would you use the construction-grade lumber, or would you try and talk the customer into a better quality wood?

Thanks in advance for all input and advice.

- Garrett

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
I wouldn't build it with construction lumber....but thats just me.

It depends on what he's expecting......coffee tables I build sell for around 800 dollars finished.....and I probably have 30 hours into one....

I could finish one that looked the same.....with pocket hole joinery and lower quality finish in about 6 hours......

The two would look similar, but the quality would be wildly different. The point is.....are you trying to build a top quality heirloom piece and make money on it.....or are you trying to learn and help a buddy?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You raise a very good point. I'm not to the point yet in my skills to be able to make a quality heirloom. I'm definitely just trying to help a buddy out.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I'm also interested in this I have some people asking me to make some stuff, and I would love to see some pictures of some of your coffee tables!!!!

·
Registered
914 Posts
How about trading your time for a tool you could use?

·
Registered
72 Posts