Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I have been a custom machine designer for the past 12 years. While most of my time lately is spent on CAD, I began in the shop with hundreds of hours spent on an engine lathe making anything I couldn't purchase.

Recently I changed jobs and no longer have access to the machine tools I used to. My wife operates a cooking blog and has recently started selling items on it. She is interested in me making some rolling pins for her to sell. These will be 24" long and approximately 3" in diameter.

Though I am familiar with turning steel and aluminum on an engine lathe, it would appear wood turning is a significantly different operation.

First things first: I need to get a lathe. I'd prefer to start with something small and reliable. Any inexpensive models I start looking for on the used market? I'm contemplating just purchasing a small metal-turning lathe and work wood with a bit more precision than needed...

Second: if anyone else has made the transition from turning metal to wood, do you have any advise for me? Any advice in general? I know the many safety rules to follow when turning, but I'd imagine a wood lathe adds a few more....

·
7,222 Posts
Take a look through earlier threads. Lots of people have the same questions about getting started with wood turning.

One example.
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f6/getting-started-56449/

If you have a local wood turning club, I recommend joining. The members will be likely eager to help your learning curve.

I am looking into getting an engine lathe to allow me to make some parts for my wood turning lathe and hand plane restorations. I have been reading a lot so have a new found appreciation of the differences.

Differences which come to mind are, in no specific order :
a) Lathe speed. Frequently faster than for metal. Running 1250 rpm or faster may be common.