Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Cowboy up and do just it
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using a table saw for over 34 years with the top hitting me at my mid chest and I figured with my own table saw which I bought 2 years ago, it was about time to make it fit me. I’ve used my table saw without any serious problems; however, even though I’m accustomed to living in a big world, it is a little awkward. I’ve been thinking that if the table saw hit me around the belly button it would be best. I was watching Tommy Mac on Rough Cut the other day and realized that his table saw hit him right at his belt. I then thought that if my upper body bends at the waist it might be best to lower it even more.
If you can, please respond to both of my questions.
1) What is the best ergonomic TS height?
2) If I lower it down to my waist, there will only be around 14” under the TS to the floor. Would this be enough for saw dust without a DC system?

·
Old School
24,017 Posts
A majority of my work now is consulting with shops, and early this year ran into that exact problem. The shop owner had been working for another shop and went out on his own with one helper.

The saw he bought was an old Delta contractor saw. The shop he left used a Unisaw which was very uncomfortable for him as he is short. In using a saw, and sometimes all day long, other than it being too high for leverage, it presented other problems. The floor in the other shop was smooth concrete, and in leaning over the saw in operation, or in reaching over the back when the saw was off, his footing was unsteady and on a few occasions had to really catch himself from falling onto the table.

Operators of table saws usually use the stands that are available for benchtop type saws and contractors saws. Those put the saw about the same height as the Unisaw. So, what I suggested was to remove the saw from the frame, and and make a base. In addition, he wanted outfeed tables.