Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of making some small panels (12" x 15") and finding it difficult to get the edges of my boards jointed.

I am working with reclaimed 3/4" cypress boards 3" x 15", I have tried using my table top porter cable jointer and also a router table. Yielding the same result in both machines leaves me to believe it is technique. When I put 2 boards together the ends fit well but the center 8" or so will have a gap ranging from .008" to .013".

Face jointed first then edge. I am hold firm but not excessive pressure on the infeed side until about 3-5" of the board is on the outfeed side then I transfer pressure to the outfeed side. I am new to this and I cant figure out where the problem is. Watching and listening to the machine it appears to be taking close to the same material off the whole length of the board. I have tried removing 1/32" and 1/16" at a time and yield similar results from both.

Am I right in assuming that is to much of a gap? Any Ideas?

Thanks

·
Registered
292 Posts
Not necessarily. If you have another straight board, you can put the board to be straightened on top of that and run it through the saw. I do this quite a bit because I don't have a jointer and it works great.

The secret is keeping the board to be straightened fully secured to the straight board. Sometimes I make several passes after that to get the board perfect.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
+ 1 on that and make sure, when jointing, that you aren't moving the board from the infeed area after feeding the end through the cutter.

I always work from behind the cutter to make sure I'm working from the outfeed table height.
Not sure I understand what you are saying. Does that mean work from the outfeed side and pull your work through the cutter. I have been working from the centerline or slightly towards the infeed side.