Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a used industrial dust collection unit from a factory my son is working at. This unit is an Ace-ITT Holub Industry unit. The unit has a 1hp motor on it and it sits on top of a 55gal drum. It has 2- 4" openings so I can take the vac system in two directions. I have never owned a dust collection system so I am new to this. I was going to run pvc pipe around my shop and place "T's" in the locations where my equpiment is located at in my shop. Then run flexible tubing to my equpiment. My question is do I need to ground this pvc pipe. Is pvc pipe going to work for the main line or should I spend the money on the pipe designed for a vac system. I've talked to several people and some say it has to be grounded and others say it doesn't. I need as much help on this subject as possible. Thanks in advance
Trucky9754

·
Registered
116 Posts
Dust collection pipe should be grounded.
pvc pipe makes great pipe, but as is it has no way to ground.
I've seen copper wire run in side, and screws screwed into the pipe connected with wire. Both work OK, but long slivers can get hung up and cause a chip jam.

If you try a grounding concept like above, I'd try not glueing the joints till I worked out the bugs.

If the pvc run is short, it won't generate much static electricity.
If the run does makes static elec. you'll be the first to know it.

Metal pipe does cost more yes, but its easy to ground, and once you have the pipe you'll always have it, it doesnt degrade. And no static shocks or chance of a dust explosion, so it's not a bad investment.

One thing to watch is , a 1 hp dust collector won't allow a very long run, or many short runs open at once, or much elevation change. So blast gates on the machines not in use will help.

Also plastic flex pipe is a killer of vac performance, so keep it to a min.