Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do very basic woodworking in my shed - really just a complete beginner, a hobby for retirement. I realized early on that the dust was going to be an issue so I've been rolling my saws outside to use them. I figured at some point I would look into dust collection.

A family member gave me a Jet DC-650 after finding out that I was messing around with woodworking (her hubby passed away and she had no use for it) so I gratefully accepted it.
I realize it's older, but I figure it must be better than using nothing (other than my shop vac LOL). I had to order the "inlet guard" on top as it was missing, so this is what the hose needs to attach to.
I have tried to figure out how to attach the hose but those little screws in the side prevent any 4" fitting from being workable. I don't get it. I must be missing something and hoping someone here can offer a suggestion.

Light Automotive tire Bicycle part Rim Audio equipment
Tire Automotive tire Material property Gas Tread

·
Registered
467 Posts
I'm not familiar with that model, or that fitting. That said, if you're trying to connect a 4" hose, you might be able to screw it onto the fitting, with the hose wire avoiding the screw heads. Second, you could use some ABS drain pipe cement to glue the guard, and remove the screws. Third, you could just remove the guard, which I assume is only there to prevent large chunks of wood from damaging the impeller blades. Finally, if you want to keep the guard in the system, move it to another location farther upstream- say, insert it at the other end of the hose.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Give me an hour and I'll have my son post a pic.
I have a DC-650 it uses a wire reinforced vinyl hose that is attached with a wire band clamp.
The other end I use a quick connect from Rockler.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·