Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, i'm new to woodturning but i've turned out a few duck and deer calls over the past few months. lately i'm noticing that my holes are coming out off centered. i thought the mandrel on my lathe may be bent so i ordered a few new ones from rockler.com and tried one out tonight and the problem is still occurring. I sharpened my rough out and tried it on a block this evening. the mandrel came off the tailstock and bent pretty badly. i tried the other mandrel (also new) and when i got finished with the barrel, i still had one side thicker than the other. any thoughts on what i'm doing wrong?

·
Senior Sawdust Sweeper
1,529 Posts
Maybe your bushings are off center. Have you checked for runout on your setup? Mount the bushings and bring the rest close and hold a tool just brushing the bushing and rotate the drive by hand and observe the contact. Check to see if the tailstock lines up with the drive point.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i'm not sure what runout is. i did set everything up, minus the wood, and run the lathe with a pencil in the middle to see if the mandrel was warped and it did bounce a little. the bushings i'm using aren't very old, i got them for christmas.

·
Registered
5,049 Posts
You may be putting to much tension on the mandrel, causing it to bow. When you bring the tail stock up, don't over tighten it.
Mike Hawkins;)

·
Registered
1,048 Posts

·
Registered
557 Posts
If you are using the expanding rubber bushing there is a simple fix for them. Take them off the mandrel, open the door and throw as far as possible. For every turner that can make them work there are a bunch that have your problem. I turn using a $15 pen mandrel and had the same problem until I turned a set of tapered jam chucks to go on the mandrel instead.