Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone !
I have been asked by a customer to restore this old dresser when I visit in South east Asia. I am just learning the trade and was unsure about a couple of things.
Firstly, does anyone recognise this style or think it is a genuine antique? I cant seem to find anything similar here in the UK so it could be a colonial piece or perhaps worth nothing at all! It was bought from a second hand dealer and didn't come with any info.
I would guess a previous owner painted it this colour but cant be sure?
I am hoping to reverse the sagging by installing a sturdy hardwood back-plate between the two cupboards and clamp them in tight while gluing..
This will hopefully help the drawers function again. I only have photos to go on at the moment!
Looks like the paint would scrape off relatively easily or perhaps even with nitromors.
Sorry the pics are a bit small due to upload limits.
Any help, ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Many thanks, John

Attachments

·
Registered
404 Posts
Very hard for me to tell. I personally wouldn't take something like this on until I looked it over in person. The paint may or may not be original. My guess 1980's. if you are able to look at hardware you can tell a lot more. Underside of drawers may have makers mark.

·
Registered
26,200 Posts