Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've owned this lathe since I was a kid. Everything I've ever turned has been done on this lathe. I have zero experience turning on any other lathe.

P6010173.jpg

I've done what I know how to do to improve the performance of this lathe, such as sacks of concrete to absorb vibration, but I feel that If I want to improve the quality of my turnings, a new lathe may be in order.

P6100120.jpg

Above is a recent example of the type of turning I like to do.

Every once in awhile the lathe shudders, usually resulting in catching a tool and digging out some grain.

My budget might go up to $1200. I've have had good experience with Grizzly tools. I am open for suggestion.

Bret

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Look at the Nova 16/24. Woodcraft runs them on sale every now and then and it's a great lathe that's in your budget. I think you will find that it runs much smoother than what you have. Add a little extra weight to the stand on the Nova and it's a great lathe.

·
Banned
139 Posts
I don't know if its a big deal to you or not but my next lathe will have variable speed. Something to think about.

I agree about watching sales. My local woodcraft not long ago had the nova for 500 off if I remember right.

·
7,222 Posts
Look at the Nova 16/24. Woodcraft runs them on sale every now and then and it's a great lathe that's in your budget. I think you will find that it runs much smoother than what you have. Add a little extra weight to the stand on the Nova and it's a great lathe.
Woodcraft had the Nova 16/24 on sale last month if I recall for $900. I expect it may be on sale again, but towards the end of the year.

This would be a good upgrade. You have managed to create some nice things on the present lathe, but an upgrade should allow you to create more beautiful items, but perhaps with more fun.

·
Registered
1,200 Posts