Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I recently made plans to replace the table top of a dining room table for a customer. They want it aproximately 7ft long by 40 inches wide and somewhere between 1.5 - 2 inches in depth. I had initially suggested using a biscuit glue up of solid white oak 2x6's or 2x8's, but I would also like to explore any other potential options available. The customer would prefer not to have any seam marks on the table top and I was wondering if some kind of a high grade hardwood plywood build would be suitable?

I will also be staining and finishing it.

I am relatively new to furniture building so any input is greatly appreciated, Thanks!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's kinda what i'm leaning towards, but is plywood a good idea when it comes to table tops? Do you think edge banding would work on the edges or should i go with something thicker? is edge banding even available in 2" width?

·
7,222 Posts
Plywood works fine for table tops. The nuace is that the face veneer is thin, so you need to be careful not to sand through the veneer.

+1 with mdntrdr - use solid edges. It will look better and withstand knocks and dents of daily use better.

You will not be able to make this top without some seams, unless the edges of the plywood are exposed, which will look awful. Better set expectations with the customer. They may not appreciate what it takes to make such a large top.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the fast replies guys.

Only problem I have with solid edges is that the table isn't going to be rectangular, the corners are all approx. 6" radii quarter circles. I'm not exactly sure how to approach cutting these pieces, or attaching them for that matter. Maybe I should try my hand at wood bending?

·
Scotty D
4,479 Posts