Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a student at the University of Pennsylvania and am currently doing reseearch on the digital needs of woodworkers. I would appreciate any comments / feedback on the software and products you currently use during your projects and any thoughts on how you could improve them.

If there are any digital services you see a strong benefit in but cannot find I would like to hear that too.

It would also be good to know where you would need the most help. Is it at the concept / ideation stage, the planning stage or the actual creation stage (digitally controlled tools)

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Most of us here are hobbyists that don't have a strong need or want the financial outlay for Cnc tooling, that said, many of use some version of cad whether it be sketchup, autocad, or solidworks for design.

·
7,222 Posts
I am a hobbyist woodworker.

I am not sure what you mean by "digital" - namely does the tool need to display parameters, or does the operator need to interact with the tool via some kind of display/input method?

I have been happy with my power tools with electronic speed control, examples are my three variable speed routers, my variable speed lathe.

I have been less than happy with my tools which are digital measuring devices, both made by Wixey.

My Wixey angle gauge consumes batteries. They are not expensive, but it is frustrating to insert a new battery, use the angle gauge then the next time I need it find the battery is dead.

I have a Wixey digital table saw fence. I tried to use this, but it was not accurate enough since I wanted it to display in fractions, which is how I measure. The problem is the conversion from digital to fractions is not exact, hence a small digital range is represented by the same fraction. This is large enough to cause a problem in my work, so this now gathers dust and I use the good old cursor on the fence.