Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been a while but im getting back in to turning and wanted to replace several turning tools, What is the difference between a Oval Skew Chisel and the standard flat skew that I always have used, Also can anyone recommend a brand of tools, I really can not afford sorby tools right now, thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
You didn't say what you are turning. I'm only an occasional turner and mostly do larger spindles, not pens. I'm not an expert but I switched to some Sorby tools several years ago. For the most part, I use a roughing gouge, parting tool and a Spindle Master. Sorby turning tools are high speed steel, much harder than normal tool steels. The Spindle Master is simple to sharpen, if needed. Flat on a stone. It leaves a completely smooth surface on your spindle that needs no sanding. I wouldn't want to go back to more standard tools, three tools isn't a huge expense. Rockler is having a sale on some Sorby tools, the 1" SM is $55, $20 off. The pen turning set of 3 is $88.

I think this sums up skews fairly well. http://woodturninglearn.net/articles/defenseofskew.htm

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sorry I dabble in everything I have made pens but am working now on peppermills and several bowls, I would like to replace several tools I am looking for 2 skews and a parting tool all worn down I will check out rocklers and the sorby what is a oval skew used for? thanks for the reply

·
7,222 Posts
what is a oval skew used for?
An oval skew is used for the same operations as a flat skew.

The difference is just the shape of the body. Some folks find the oval shape easier to roll, e.g. to make beads or coves.

Other folk are able to roll the flat skew just as easily.

A bit of personal preference.

·
Registered
2,609 Posts