Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am looking at buying a new saw.
I have a Mastercraft saw. I wanted to upgrade.
I was in H.D. (in Canada) today and they are selling a Dewalt Jobsite saw for about $850.00
This is the DWE7491RS model. The fence on this feels really nice.
At the same time I looked at the Ridgid saw.
The R4514 is about half the price of the Dewalt.
I could in effect buy the R4514 saw and a Ridgid thickness planer for the same price as the Dewalt saw.

On the other hand will the Ridgid saw give me buyers remorse after a few weeks?

There is also the Ridgid R4520 which is more of a stationary saw for about $750.00.

So many choices....
Any recommendations from anyone?
I am just starting into the woodworking hobby. I make a few little things on weekends.
I am sure the saw would see some use, but not a whole lot. I have been using the Mastercraft saw, and I want to upgrade.

Thanks,

.......Cameron

·
Registered
Termite
4,515 Posts
Have you looked for a used one? Sometimes there are some like new tools out there for a nice discount...

·
Registered
54 Posts
My brother got a dewalt job site saw for Christmas and has been pretty pleased with it.

My old TS failed on me last year and I ended up with the Delta 725T2 and am very happy with it. Only available from Lowe’s but provides a great unit with a nice stock fence and good dust collection. Price was also very reasonable.

·
Registered
152 Posts
I also picked up the Delta 725T2 from Lowes. I’ve had it less then a year, we are still in the honeymoon phase where we haven’t really experienced our first big fight. Overall, I’m pretty pleased. I struggle with the fence sometimes where it doesn’t always lock in parallel with the blade and I’m just now getting used to the blade guard. I didn’t need anything that would actually go to a job site even though this has wheels, I consider it more of a shop saw then job site.

·
Registered
175 Posts