Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Dewalt DW745 has recently gone on sale at Home Depot to a price of 269.00 and I was looking to buy my first table saw. I say my first because I am currently borrowing a Ryobi table saw from my step father. After using that saw, I will never buy a Ryobi; the fence was terrible and the motor too weak to rip through the material I needed it to. Any thoughts if this table saw will suffice? I am new to woodworking and have just begun to do minor furniture projects, plus the hubby do list for the new house. Please help!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not set on anything. I grew up on dewalt and noticed this was on sale; I do not have my heart set on anything in particular. It is mostly a price issue, I kicked my wife's car out of the garage so I have full reign of the garage haha. I am only 24 and do not have a a lot of disposable income.

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Here's the thing. Small portable table saws fit best into the need for portability. Everything else (accuracy, power, ease of use, safety) are all compromised by the portability.

Are you open to the idea of an older used saw?

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Another vote for used.

I have zero experience with the saw you mentioned but Id take a used stationary saw over a new portable saw any day. You can pick up used contractor saws on CL for cheap. The old Emerson made Craftsman saws can usually be found for $150 or less. Most of them will need some cleaning up and a fence upgrade to make a really good saw out of them but you still wind up in the same price range as the new portable and end up with a much better and safer saw.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·