Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, newbie here :)

I'm planning to build this table to make the best use of the available space. I don't want a leg in front where the two boards meet, so I intend to stabilize it with the two metal bars on the underside of the tabletop, as shown in the second picture.

Is this going to be stable enough? Any special tips for buying the wood boards and cutting one of them at an angle like this?

Attachments

·
Registered
137 Posts
I'm no engineer, but I'd like to see the cross supports resting on the legs, somehow. Otherwise, weight on one of the two pieces will tend to cause your supports to pull away from the other.

·
Banned
3,533 Posts
Honestly, if the stretcher/support beam things have enough screws into both sides of the table, I believe you'll be fine. I don't think they need to be full length, but it certainly won't hurt to have extra support. If you're really worried, put a second, shorter, pair that extends across the joint for maybe 8-10 inches on either side and you'll definitely be fine. Are you using ply, or solid wood for this?

·
Registered
2,775 Posts
Nope. Not gonna fly if somebody decides to lean/sit on the edge of your desk.
Frame first. Top can be attached by the finest Law of Gravity in our galaxy.

I have built several 8' x 32" desks in two houses. Most have two distinct work positions with
some catch-all lower shelves in the middle (aka support). On top is workspace plus several old tower computers. All the printers sit on shelves above that.

Bash-worthy benches.

·
where's my table saw?
28,696 Posts
make a scale model

You can make a model of the table using 1/4" plywood for the tops. Pick a scale like 3" to the foot. Use wooden rails for the metal ones, keeping the size in scale. Load the model with weights where you would expect the greatest force to be...see what happens and where it fails.