Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
'Evening. I hope you guys can guide me with a desk I'm designing.

I'm sure it's simple, but I can't figure out how to join this thing.

Overall sketch:

Detail of problem area:

I'm planning to use a tongue and groove to join the main panels. I'm going to use rail and stile construction for the pedestal drawers, but I can't figure out how to join in the rails for the center drawer. A moulding will be applied the full width of the desk on the lower center drawer rail.

This is going to be stained. 3/4" oak plywood cases with solid oak mouldings and top.

Thanks. And feel free to tell me to do this some other way entirely. I've never built a desk before.

·
Old School
24,027 Posts
'Evening. I hope you guys can guide me with a desk I'm designing.

I'm sure it's simple, but I can't figure out how to join this thing.

Overall sketch:

Detail of problem area:

I'm planning to use a tongue and groove to join the main panels. I'm going to use rail and stile construction for the pedestal drawers, but I can't figure out how to join in the rails for the center drawer. A moulding will be applied the full width of the desk on the lower center drawer rail.

This is going to be stained. 3/4" oak plywood cases with solid oak mouldings and top.

Thanks. And feel free to tell me to do this some other way entirely. I've never built a desk before.
I would first use a lock miter bit for joining the main panels instead of tongue and groove. It will leave a clean looking panel in both directions, whereas a T&G will leave a raw edge of ply.

The top edge of the panel next to the drawer opening is cut/notched to let in a full rail across the end panels and the opening. The width of it can allow the stiffening of the panels and a way to secure a desktop, by screwing from beneath. The lower rail on the drawer opening can be installed by way of a stub tenon on the ends of the rails.

·
Registered
173 Posts