Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm very new to the hobby of woodworking. Can someone explain the difference between woodworking plans and woodworking blueprints? Also, are "designs" the same as plans?

·
I wood if I could.
3,976 Posts
Hello and welcome. I don't know that I'd use the term "blueprints" in the context of woodworking plans but, yes, they are, in my mind, the same thing.

Design, however, is, well, the design. The style, the arrangement of elements that give a piece a specific look, style or feel. But I imagine you know what the word means in the general sense. It has that same meaning in woodworking. You can design your own projects of use some one else's design. The plans (or blueprints, if you prefer) are the diagrams and other records that convey the information required to reproduce a piece of work. The plans may or may not include a written description or step by step walk-through of the specific steps one might take to build a project.

So, plans convey a design to a potential builder or a given project. And "blueprint" can be used to refer to the diagrams that disclose such information as assembly details, dimensions and shapes of parts.

·
Registered
5,526 Posts
Hi. I'm very new to the hobby of woodworking. Can someone explain the difference between woodworking plans and woodworking blueprints? Also, are "designs" the same as plans?
Well, I would say that they are pretty much the same depending on who done them, but blueprints always have all the dimensions on them as well as working drawings. Designs don't except for maybe references.

I would also say that "blueprints" are pretty much a thing of the past.

Reactions: shalisha

·
Registered
209 Posts