Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, this is my first post here! I'm a college student going for a cheap book shelf (free standing), but I don't want to buy one of the cheap ones at Walmart / target. So, I figured I'd get a sheet of plywood, cut it, and nail it together. I sketched out a plan on paper and ran into a question, that only the sages could answer. Is 4 foot too wide for a book shelf? College text books (any books) get pretty heavy really quick. I was planning on using 1/2" plywood (pine) I was going to make it 11" deep, the shelves 4' wide (that makes the overall width 49"). And the height overall 47". I was going to put a backing on the back, like 1/4 something cheap, maybe brackets as well. I'll do an actual Google sketch up after I get my rough draft down. Just as an FYI, I do have some woodworking experience as a hobbyist, but I'm not nearly as knowledgeable as you guys. I appreciate any advise.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

I would use only ¾" plywood.

I would keep my shelf length 31⅞" or less (in between ends).

I would make the shelf depth 11⅞" or less. This allows getting 8 pieces from 96" (including the ⅛" kerf).

Draw out a rectangle on a piece of paper representing a 4x8, and lay out your pieces to be cut. You could get all the parts from one sheet.

·
Registered
179 Posts
I would do as C man said. Use 3/4 Ply and look at the number of pieces you can cut that are a little less tan 12 inches. Either 4 or 8 depending if you want it tall or short. Then design you bookcase accordingly. You should end up using most of the sheet.

4 foot is way too long for shelves. You might be better making two separate side by side cases if you want it to be short.

Consider another method to fasten other than nails. I have built some sturdy bookcases using a kreg pocket hole jig and screws.