Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using denatured alcohol for 8 years to clean the final sanding dust from an antique before I stain it. I live in a Canadian city which is a border city to Michigan and have been buying denatured alcohol in Michigan. With the border closed I need a replacement for denatured alcohol since I cannot buy it in Canada.

Any suggestions? Methyl hydrate? Simple mineral spirits?

Thanks for any feedback.

Gary

·
Registered
3,198 Posts
Everclear grain alcohol is an option. Some folks prefer it to denatured for making shellac. Available at liquor stores.

·
Registered
869 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Everclear grain alcohol is an option. Some folks prefer it to denatured for making shellac. Available at liquor stores.
Thanks for the quick feedback. I am not finding it listed in our liquor stores. I suspect it would be very expensive.

Gary

·
Registered
3,198 Posts
It is expensive here, but I'm told it's mostly because of the liquor tax. I didn't know if maybe liquor taxes are different there.

·
Registered
102 Posts
I use mineral spirits to clean up after sanding and it works well for me. If you're looking for something natural you could check out this citrus solvent. I just started using it to thin tung oil but some people use it as a final cleaning step. It doesn't dry quite as quickly as mineral spirits and it is not the cheapest option but it does smell nice! :smile2:

·
Super Moderator
David
4,989 Posts
Everclear is expensive, had to get some for doing French Polish finish. My go-to for wiping something down is and has been Naphtha for the past 30-40 years. Flashes off quickly and leaves no residue or odor.

David

·
Registered
869 Posts
Discussion Starter #8