Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi WWT, I'm Matt. I am a computer super geek... I do a bit of small electronics soldering, and I super cool processors with liquid nitrogen, for fun and benchmark competition (think essentially pointless but pretty cool, like drag racing). I manage the Overclockers computer site.

I am also an absolute novice with woodworking. In the past month tho, I've built two basement shelves, a bathroom shelf, and a TV cabinet for our bedroom... Using a circular saw for the first time ever. So I'm coming along, reading a lot, and learning by just building stuff. I have a lot to build as I moved into my first home two months ago. A 9 foot dinner table and a deck are in my future, but I'm building experience first while scraping together what tools I can on a budget.

Now to the guts... I have my eye on a craigslist delta 10" table saw. it has two problems. Bad switch, which I've already read about fixing on these here forums (thanks). The other problem, which I don't know the name of the part, is the missing piece in the surface of the table that goes around the opening for the saw. What is it called, and where should I look to find a suitable replacement? I don't know what the popular retailers are with this crowd, who may carry salvage/replacement parts like this.

I believe this is a 10" unit, but the CL posting is vague, and I'm calling tomorrow for more info. Its listed for $75, as it doesn't actually run due to the switch, but the motor has been tested good. This is right up my alley - I've had luck in the past buying "dead" graphics cards, which really just needed a fan replaced or some solder reflowed. Some were duds, but with risk there can be reward.

Also, what questions should I ask? Here's what I have in mind:

- model number of saw (hopefully a 3000rpm+, not an older one half that speed)
- age of saw