Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i'm brand new to Danish Oil, Danish Oil Finish etc. I put my first coat on (DEFTOIL Danish Oil Finish) my walnut console and I am currently letting it dry and wiping down any sweating every 10-15 min. However I'm curious. Is 2 coats needed? Preferred? I presume it's more durable if i do 2+ coats, I just don't want to saturate the wood TOO much. The guy at my wood shop said one would be enough but of course if i wanted i could put 2+ ...it was all just up to me.

I was doing some digging and read that you should wet sand between coats sometimes? I sanded this to 220 before this initial first coat. Everything seems smooth except for one part that I probably didn't sand very well on the inside. I can def. live with it but I'm curious about whether or not I should do a second pass. As well as WHEN i should do that second pass, and if i'll need to sand in between coats? Can you get by with sanding normally say at 320 - or does it HAVE to be wet sanding?

Any thoughts or insight would be appreciated. Thanks! I'm sure i'll have more questions as i go.

pics for ya...

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

·
Registered
26,989 Posts
I normally use Watco so I don't have experience with Deftoil. I normally use two coats but I wait several days to a week before the second coat. Anyway what you have looks fine so you don't have to put another coat on. If at some time in the future the wood starts looking dry you can always add another coat then. It doesn't necessary make the finish more durable if you add another coat.

If you take the notion to sand between coats don't wet sand with water. A danish oil finish is not very water resistant. I would dry sand or use some of the danish oil as a lubricant.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·