Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having an issue cutting with my miter saw. I'm trying to cut angles, but then they don't match up. I thought my blade was flexing, but doesn't matter what brand of blade, or how expensive it is. I've started a little side business making custom benches and this is driving me crazy. The only cut that is dead on is a straight cut. Could the markings on my saw be off??? Is there something I'm doing wrong?? Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated!!!

·
Registered
205 Posts
I'm no expert but I have heard that you really shouldn't trust the factory degrees of a saw...90, 45, or whatever. I'm not sure if your "tilting" or "turning" your miter saw. If you're tilting it you can use one of those magnetic angle finders to check the angle. If you're turning it you should check the angle of the blade to the fence.

One last thing I can think of...the miter saw should have some kind of stop that prevents the blade from cutting the saw itself in half when you bring it down. If that stop happens to be at an angle it could be causing the blade to shift when it bottoms out.

Again, I'm no expert and I'm sure there are people here that can give you a better idea what's wrong.

·
Registered
301 Posts
You should list brand, manufacturer, etc of the saw and blade to give people a better idea of what you are dealing with. Perhaps someone has a similar saw/issue that you are dealing with.

Just for kicks, I would run through the whole setup of the saw again from start to finish.

·
Registered
212 Posts
You'll have to give us a little more info, like what kind of saw, maybe a picture of the box or frame or what it is your making, are you end cutting, or trying to make a frame, compound angle cut etc...just saying you angle don't match doesn't give us much to go on...:laughing:

·
SS user
2,688 Posts
You can use a draftsman's plastic triangle to adjust your saw to 45 deg.